Daily Prompt: On cashing in my pension.

Daily Prompt: Cliché.

Clichés become clichés for a reason. Tell us about the last time a bird in the hand was worth two in the bush for you.

I quit a job last fall, just a few months before I was entitled to the employer portion of the pension I’d been paying into.

Just last week I received a letter with my options for the portion of the pension I paid in:

1.  I can roll it into an RRSP and pay no tax on it, thereby having an actual real time retirement savings plan of five thousand three hundred dollars (Hahahahaha :()

2.  I can cash it in right now and pay thirty percent tax on it immediately plus more when I do my taxes next year.

3.  I can leave it where it is and upon retirement age (I’m on the freedom 85 plan :)) I can collect forty-six dollars per month!

Well, a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, so I’m cashing it in!  At least I will have a few thousand dollars to pay my recent dental bill instead of the thirteen cents I have in my bank account right now, and who knows if I’ll even live long enough to collect my forty six dollars a month!

Ahhh, the Universe always provides me with just what I need.  Thank you Universe!

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt: On cashing in my pension.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Cliché – If You Can’t Beat Them, Mock The Everloving Sh*t Out of Them! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. seeker says:

    Take your money and run. Who knows if the pension plan will crash. Eek.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cliché | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  4. Pingback: If A Woman Don’t Find You Handsome They Should At Least Find You Handy | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cliche’ « Mama Bear Musings

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cliché | بيسان

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

