Seedling Time

This weekend it is time to start my seedlings. Never having successfully started anything from seed before I am anxious to give it a try. I’ve never had a green thumb so I’m hoping with all the reading, research and tips from friends I will have some luck! A friend recently recommended that I soak my seeds overnight before planting them, I would never have known to do that since it didn’t come up in any of the reading I’ve done, but I will definately give it a try.
I’ve decided that my vertical garden will grow salad fixings and herbs with maybe a flower or two blended in there. I may also pop a couple of strawberry plants in to see what happens.
I think I may cut out one of the raised beds I’ve planned, just because with the 2×4 gardening it would be too much produce for one family and I’m not sure how much time and energy I’ll have to put into it. I’ll start with the one extra raised bed and can always expand from there for next year.
If you have any hints or pointers for me please share – I can use all the help I can get!

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in 10 Mile Diet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seedling Time

  1. Thanks for the good wishes. I depend on at least some amount of gardening to maintain my sanity!

  2. dmauldin53 says:

    Wishing you good luck on your seed starting. This is the first time in years that I haven’t started my see indoors. I always had good luck with it. I know there are some seeds that you need to soak overnight, but I have never soaked all my seeds. I’m not sure I will be able to garden at all this year and don’t want to waste the seedlings.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.