Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen.

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

Oh boy! Sixteen was not such a good age for me, when I was sixteen I couldn’t really imagine my life now, in all honesty I couldn’t really imagine I would make it into adulthood.
I went to school every day but don’t remember much of it, I was usually high and paid very little attention but managed to finish High school with a scholarship. Don’t ask me how I managed that, and again don’t ask me why I never used the scholarship – I guess it goes back to thinking I was not worthy. I had an abusive childhood and at fourteen I stopped my father’s abuse with a promise to kill him if he touched me again. Fifteen wasn’t much better, I was raped once by a stranger (while I was drunk and high) and abducted (and possibly rufied and raped) by someone known to me (surprisingly I wasn’t drinking or toking that time). Sixteen didn’t mean much.
I learned to drive though, and on my sixteenth birthday I passed my driving test during one of the worst snow storms Elliot Lake, Ontario had ever seen. Unfortunately I sort of spent many years after that getting in my car and driving, or running away if the truth be told. Not running away from anyone, just trying to run away from my past.
Life is better now. Far, far better than I ever could have imagined at sixteen. Life is not perfect, but I can wake up each day and count my blessings, there is much more good in my life than bad, and most days are good days.
I still like to get in my car and drive, but now I drive toward something, I no longer run away.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Haunted past, Living life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

  1. Sandy says:

    Rose, I’m so sorry I didn’t know your whole story when we were kids. I should have guessed. Looking back on those years, the drugs and drinking were so shockingly out of character with the little girl I first met at 11 years of age. I’m sorry I never asked the right questions, never found out the truth. So many things make sense now – not the least of them, Vince.

    I am so glad that you are able to face the memories and move ahead with life now. One thing that does not surprise me: The little girl with the raven hair and beautiful smile is a survivor, in the best sense of the word.

    Sandy xox

    • Sandy, thanks so much for your kind words, but you were just a child too, how would you possibly have even thought to ask the right questions, never mind think of what the right question were? Besides, teenagers have enough problems of their own just due to the simple fact of being a teenager. It’s funny how we can make sense of things in retrospect isn’t it? Thank you again 🙂
      Rose

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

