Daily Prompt: Musical

What role does music play in your life?

Music has played many roles throughout my life.  As a child I would escape with music as my companion.  Blondie led me through evenings of lousy television as I sat at the record player with headphones on, my sister yelling at me to stop singing so loud, stop being so annoying.   I would silence my voice and listen quietly instead, singing silently to myself.  For a while, quite a long while for a child of seven or so, I carried around a tape recorder that was almost as big as me…. my early version of of my iPod I guess!  On it I played only one song, The Blue Danube Waltz by Johann Strauss II.  http://youtu.be/_CTYymbbEL4  I played that song over and over again as I walked around, as I sat in my garden, as I played in my room.  It covered me in light.  It uplifted me and lightened my soul.  It gave me joy.

In my late teens, hearing a song by Queen could induce panic resulting in blackout if I did not remove myself from the song.  Years later I finally got it – flashback to Queen playing on the record player, the room is dark, lit only by the fire from the hearth, I am very small, perhaps no more than four or five years old and my father is holding me, dancing to the music and I feel so sad, and afraid, and helpless.

Ahhh, so that was it, the hint of memory causing the panic, not the song, and now?  Now I love Queen, have Queen on my iPod and belt out the songs while I clean the house, and oh how my daughter hates that!  “Mom! Stop singing so loud, it’s annoying, you can’t carry a tune!”  I used to stop singing when she complained, but now I tell her to remove herself from my range because I don’t want to stop singing, singing makes me feel good, it makes me happy, it brings light to my soul and I don’t want to stop.

I walk a lot, well, in the Summertime I walk a lot.  I don’t always bring my iPod,  I mostly like to hear the music of outside…. the wind in the trees, the birds singing, dogs barking in the distance and the panting of the ones walking with me, even cars passing…. it all combines to connect me to the world I’m in.  Sometimes if I listen closely I hear the trees sigh and the plants pushing their way to the sun.

Sometimes I listen to the music on my iPod while I walk and sometimes just the music in my head.  Sometimes I dance.  There are times when the music fills me, uplifts me and brings me so much joy I can’t contain it, I just have to dance and dance like no one’s watching, even though I may be walking down the sidewalk during rush hour!  And sometimes the music I listen to brings smiles to others……..this old broad with two left feet, dogs laying patiently waiting while I whirl and twirl,  jive and groove, hands out in supplication, face uplifted, praising this world with my joy.

That’s music’s role in my life.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Living life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Musical

  1. C. R. says:

    Music and memories go hand in hand. Each song has the power to evoke more than one feeling, good, bad, or ugly. Great post 🙂

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

