Daily Prompt: Think Global, Act Local

Daily Prompt: Think Global, Act Local.

October 2012 027

Global warming is probably the biggest Global concern I can think of.

I address this by buying locally whenever possible.   During the Summer months we have a number of Farmer’s Markets in various locations throughout Winnipeg, the one I like the most is my local one which is about a five minute walk from my home.   It’s not a very large market and contains mostly small-garden produce grown in the neighbourhood.
I also have a small garden plot in my back yard where I attempt to grow herbs, tomatoes, sugar snap peas, cucumbers, lettuce, peppers and various other things. They have all been quite successfull but the one thing I have tried over and over again to grow is radish – completely unsuccessfull!   Don’t know what I’m doing wrong, since I’ve tried them in different garden plots in different locations, I’ve even tried them in planters….. nothing!

I also compost all my kitchen and garden scraps, collect rain water, and use an electric mower.  I try to reduce and always re-cycle and love to re-use whatever I can…… I hate seeing perfectly good stuff go into the landfill.  I have found that a far better way to get rid of stuff – furniture, electronics etc… that I no longer have a use for is to put it outside near the sidewalk.  It always get claimed by someone who can use it.  My partner couldn’t believe his eyes the first time I did that. He was all for taking it to the landfill, I said “no, let’s wait, if there is anything left in the morning then we can take it to the landfill.” Of course there was nothing left.

I think factory farming is a huge contributor to global warming, so I also try to buy meat produced locally by family farms. I try to incorporate as much vegetarian food into our diet as possible, but my partner is a true carnivore, he would be happiest if a vegetable never touched his plate! So I add meat in there about twice a week for him.

I know they are all small things and I am only one person, but even one person doing a small thing is better than no-one doing anything.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily Prompt: Think Global, Act Local

  1. Pingback: Think Global, Act Local | Beyond Beauty Tips

  2. Madryt says:

    Hi there, I found your blog by the use of Google even as looking for a related matter, your site got here up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  3. seeker says:

    Zero mile diet, yay.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Think Global, Act Local « KnowledgeKnut

  5. No act of kindness is too small. Don’t cut yourself short. 🙂

  6. determined34 says:

    Like your post, you are re-thinking what you do, well done. 🙂 D 34

  7. Little drops of water water make a mighty ocean, my dear! The little things we do individually amount to much, collectively. Lovely post! You can see my response to the prompt: http://teeceecounsel.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/prompt-unemployment-and-resourcefulness/

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Think Global, Act Local now lets rethink … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

