Daily Prompt: Writing Room

Daily Prompt: Writing Room

This prompt came at a perfect time since I am currently working on my room, the room I actually claimed as my library the very first time I saw it.

I live in a home that was built in 1910 give or take a year or two. My dining room has a little sunroom off the back of it with French doors between the two. Take a look at this picture and please try to ignore the Christmas tree the kitten trashed and all the junk sitting in the sunroom.  As I said, I’m just starting to work on that room and with a small house with no empty spaces, its hard to empty out a room to make changes to it – I end up with junk all over the dining/living/kitchen/basement – oh wait, there’s no room for junk in the basement, its already crammed.  That’s what you get combining two later life households into one little 960 sq foot house!  But I digress.

2012 Christmas Tree

My library/reading/writing room unfolds this way.

Open the double french doors and come in to my seven by nine foot haven, please, no shoes. Windows all but fill two walls and the remaining wall space is taken up with book shelves. My laptop and whatever books I happen to be reading at the time, sit on the shelf closest to the wing back chair that snuggles into the corner next to the radiator. A warm fluffy blanket and a plump down pillow make it the coziest corner in the house.

A threadbare, antique Persian rug lays on the equally worn hardwood floor and in front of the chair a sheepskin rug, perfect for pushing bare feet into. The round cherrywood table beside the chair holds a lamp, a notebook and pen and a large chunk of Amber I found on one of my walks.

The windows give me a perfect view of my healing place, the spot underneath the huge old Elm tree in the backyard. During the growing season this place hums, the healing energy is a tangible thing that flows up through the ground and into my soul. My library feels like an extension of this spot, it envelopes me in golden afternoon sunlight and the night cloaks me in darkness, the glow of the screen my only illumination.

My library sits at the back of my house, it is small and cozy, holds all my books and whatnots that have followed me around, and my library wraps me in magic, no genie required.

Oh, it’s also restricted access, see the ENTRY CHECKLIST.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: Writing Room

  1. Pingback: Write On! – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Bbots says:

    I love the entry checklist, I need one of those for my room! I’m glad I found your blog. I had fun here. Thank you for sharring. 🙂

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

