Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

submitted by michelle w. on February 4, 2013

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

I must admit that in the past I’ve been an all or nothing, full on, jump in with both feet and don’t look back kinda gal. I’ve ended relationships by cutting off all my hair and getting in my car and driving away. That probably explains why I’m in my mid forties with no savings, a bunch of old furniture and a shitload of debt, probably not a good thing walking away with just the clothes on my back, not just once either!

Now that I’m a little older I approach change more gradually. Wait, still not true. I’m not sure I can do gradual change. I’m all about instant gratification, and slow and steady might win the race but it does nothing for me! Small changes aren’t really an issue for me, I can change the toilet paper I buy and the way I put the roll onto the holder. I can change the colour of my hair, the toothpaste I use, the paint colour on the walls, all a go, instantly, no real thought required, I can always change it again if I don’t like it. Actually, that pretty much sums up everything.

Incremental change? That’s pretty much just procrastination for me. If I need to make a major change I need to do it now – boom – done, no looking back, no falling off the wagon, no little bit here and a little bit there. I do plenty of procrastinating while thinking of making a change, the only thing I do gradually is determine that change is required and once my mind is made up I just go full on and jump in with both feet.

Sink or swim baby!

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

