Daily Prompt: Whoa!

Daily Prompt: Whoa!.

The year was 1977, I was nine years old at the time, and have this surreal experience firmly planted in the very fabric of my being.

I lived in the countryside on a concrete road, duplex county houses situated every four hundred feet or so, surrounded by farmland, bordered by hedges. As I walked home from school one day I suddenly noticed there were no sounds, no birds singing, no cattle lowing, just a very eerie silence. As I came parallel to one of the two story houses, I saw a UFO. It was just hovering there, a little to the right of the house in front of me and up just at the roofline. The UFO looked like an upside down soup bowl, the kind of shallow bowl with a wide rim, like a hat. It had what appeared to be little windows all around it, and I felt like I was being watched. I have no idea how long I stood there, mesmerized, unable to move, looking at this thing while I swear it looked back at me. It didn’t make a sound and after who knows how long it left. It just moved away and moved so quickly that in moments it was just a pinpoint, and then it was gone.

I regained my senses and ran home like the demons of hell were chasing me. I ran into my house, ran to tell my mother what I had seen, but she wasn’t interested, just told me to tell my father. I remember that I drew what I had seen on the bottom of the box of a game of pop-up I had. Don’t ask why I didn’t draw it on paper, perhaps I couldn’t find any.

Anyway, I told my dad and he and my whole family pretty much teased me mercilessly for the rest of the evening. The teasing didn’t really last long though because later that evening my father saw one too. Out of our window on the top floor landing he saw what he said must have been the mother ship. He said it hovered over the oil refinery miles away and was so large the refinery was dwarfed by it. That would have made the ship at least ten miles in diameter. He called out to wake us all, but by the time we got there it was gone.

Later that week all hell broke loose. Shopkeepers, policemen, teachers, students, all manner of people individually and in groups, were talking about the “flying saucers” they had seen. There was huge media coverage, newspapers and television couldn’t get enough of it. They dubbed it the “Milford Haven Triangle.”

About fifteen years ago I tried to do some research on the event but I found absolutely nothing other than one “story” online, I read and read then bookmarked the page, but months later when I went back to it, the story was no longer to be found.

You can find information on it now, but most blurbs seem to cast it in the light of hoax.

I know what I saw, as I said, it was a surreal moment imprinted on my psyche.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Whoa!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Whoa! | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Whoa! … Pope Benedict XVI (Ret.) not RIP | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Whoa! – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give The Lad An Oscar” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. seeker says:

    The media does not want to cause a mass hysteria about UFO. Glad that nobody was taken away.

  5. Pingback: AGAIN… « hastywords

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

