Daily Prompt: Nightmares: Da Bears!

Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

I have been plagued by recurring dreams / nightmares for as long as I can remember, the dreams continue to  occur until I figure out what they are trying to tell me.

There were the dreams about houses which were often different from the outside, but the inside was always the same, scary, evil and ever changing.  I had that one for years until I figured out it represented my childhood.

The basement dreams, dark, dank, dread filled spaces that I could never get out of – represented the rotten foundation of the relationship I was in at the time.

Being in a boat on a lake – think I have that one figured out.

The constant driving on roads that wind between bodies of water, often flooded out in places forcing me to drive though unknown depths of water – I’m still trying to figure that one out.

The horrible recurring dream where all the people walk into the river en masse to die.  Still working on that one too.

And the bears, months and months of bears trying to get to me.  The last one I remember was particularly scary:

I was in a blue pickup truck and pulled into a hard packed dirt parking lot, my tires kicking up dust as I slammed on the breaks.  I leapt out of the truck leaving the door open and ran like hell towards a double wide trailer.  Halfway there I saw the bear chasing me, full speed.  I got to the  trailer, threw myself through the door and slammed it shut behind me a moment before the bear slammed against it.  I went into the kitchen and the bear smashed in the window and began climbing through it.  I ran out of the trailer and into a house thinking itwould be safter but another bear follwed me and broke down the door.  I climbed out of a window and started running down a beautiful tree shaded lane.

I ran and ran, my lungs burning and chest heaving, seeing the bears through the trees. Just when I thought I couldn’t go another step I realized I was carrying my youngest daughter, but she was very young – still a tddler.  I was terrified and exhausted and hid behind a big rock, cradling my child in my arms, hoping I had lost the bears chasing me.

Just as I started to catch my breath a gigantic white bear came around the rock, sat down beside me and began to speak.  I was stunned.  The bear said, “finally, we’ve been trying to talk to you but you keep running away.”  She spoke to me for a while, words I don’t remember, but I did remember her final words, she said, “you know what you have to do”.

I woke up right away and immediately knew the meaning of the dream.  The bear was my spirit guide.  She was telling me I need to be a mother bear.  I need to be tenacious, to not give up, and to fight  for my daughter.

I know it was the correct interpretation for me because there ended the recurring bear dreams.

Do you have any recurring dreams?

 

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

