Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth – To The Manor Called

You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

This daily prompt is the easiest yet, I have long thought about what I would do if I were to win a very large sum of money, and apparently for this post I have all the money I need!

I would build a battered women’s shelter.  Not just any shelter, but a true healing home which for now I will call The Manor.

The plot would be large, the whole thing walled in from the outside world to provide security and protection.  I would hate to have to turn anyone away so the house would contain many, many bedrooms and many bathrooms, there would be a large communal kitchen and dining room, a huge library well stocked with books and computers.  There would be a nursery also, like a daycare environment which would be manned the same way as everything else.

The grounds would harbour large greenhouses, large garden plots, a stable and a kennel .  I would include the stable because horses are amazing therapy animals, and the kennel so that women  would be able to bring their pets with them, which is often part of the reason women don’t leave, their pets are like family, and they fear for their safety as well as their childrens.  Every building would be heated and cooled using GeoThermal energy.

All occupants would be tasked with the daily operations of the Manor, kind of like a commune, where everyone’s input is required to make things work.  In this manner, the women and children would be safe from harm, would learn skills, confidence and the value of their own worth.

Produce would be grown year round and sold locally, as well as allowing us to be fairly self sufficient.  Of course, the aim would be to rehabilitate so there would also be counselling, education and placement options when women move on.

So, that’s my plot of Earth wish, what’s yours?

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

