Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

When I was younger it was always, “I’ll be happy when…” when I’m done school, when I’m out of debt, when I’m married, when I have children, when I lose twenty pounds, when everything is just right… and on and on, it always seemed like I was waiting to be happy.

No more! Now I consider each and every day to be a blessing. I have two wonderfully imperfect children, a wonderfully imperfect husband who treats me like a queen, wonderfully imperfect friends, some of whom I consider family. I have dogs and cats that are a daily delight, when I’m not cleaning up after them anyway! I live in a house I love in a neighbourhood I never want to move away from unless it involves either living like a gypsy or building a cabin in the wilderness somewhere.

I’m finally old enough to know who I am and to actually like myself, most days anyway. I have discovered that life is short and tenuous, and the only way to truly live is to enjoy everything, see the silver lining, the cup half full, and obstacles as opportunities. I don’t always live this way, but dammit I’m trying.

So yes, I’m living the dream! How about you?

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

