Daily Prompt: Fantasy

“The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .) : a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?” –

Pict0029

The first time my oldest daughter, M,  asked me if Santa Clause was real my answer was, “of course Santa is real darling!”  She heaved a big sigh of relief, gave me a hundred watt smile and exclaimed, “I knew it!”

Flash forward five years or so, it’s  Easter and my youngest daughter, E,  is thrilled because she is convinced she actually saw the Easter Bunny the night before.  M is estatic, proof that the rumors she’s heard aren’t really true.

A few months older now and M is again asking, “Mom, is Santa really real?  Everyone at school says he isn’t.”  Wow.  That was a hard moment for a mom, I didn’t want her to be humiliated at school by still believing, but I didn’t want her to lose the wonder yet.  Sadly I told her, “no honey, Santa isn’t real, but is a representation of the spirit of giving at Christmas time.”  She thought about it, mulled it over for a few moments and said with a smile, “okay, I guess I’ll still believe in Santa then.”  Then she froze, the smile dropped off her face and she said, “wait, what about the tooth fairy?”   “Yeah, that was me.”  “And, what about?  Oh no, does that mean…. the Easter Bunny?  He’s still real right?  E saw him!”  “No honey, just pretend, I hide the Easter eggs and E must have dreamed him.”  More silence from M, I could practically hear the wheels turning as she absorbed this new dissapointment and then she looked at me and said, “let’s not tell E okay?  She’s still too little.”

On another side of that, why do we, as parents, force our young children to not only talk to a total stranger but sit on his lap while they do it?

 

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Living life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Fantasy

  1. huntmode says:

    Rose, you captured those moments perfectly and you are not alone. A friend of mine experienced the same with her two boys, and just like your M protecting E, her eldest manfully allows the younger his joyous beliefs.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

