Daily Prompt: Show and Tell: Just A Piece of Meat

I have a slightly different show and tell idea to share with you today, one that I’m pretty sure would fall under the heading of “with cause”. Just so you know, it’s kind of a rant.

I have worked for NPF, Non-Public Funds, at the OMess, Officer’s Mess, on the Airforce base here in the city, for the last seventeen years. I have gone through the gamut of casual, part-time, full-time, casual, bartender, supervisor, manager, back to casual. I’m currently still employed there on a casual basis after giving my notice as the bar manager last fall to take another management position elsewhere.

NPF’s policy on casual employment has recently changed and I and all other current casual employees were recently sent a registered letter informing us of the changes.

Basically, my current employment cantract has been cancelled. The new policy states that all casual employees will now be hired on a three to six month contract. My offer had two options. Option one, accept this three month contract, option two, decline this contract and consider this your two weeks notice. Hmmmm.

My offer of employment also states that for the duration of my term, I will be considered to be on probation. They may terminate my employment at anytime without notice with cause, and anytime with two weeks notice without cause. I am never entitled to a raise, in fact, my hourly rate of pay dropped, and when my term is up I must wait one month before re-applying for the position or receiving another offer of employment.

I truly feel like nothing but a piece of meat there now. I mean how can an employer treat their staff that way. They obviously aren’t concerned with keeping staff, which in my experience they should be, especially when you have people who know what they are doing, do it well and are passionate about doing it. I’ve gone through enough staff myself just because most people don’t want a job where you run your ass off, that pays minimum wage and you’re lucky to get thirty bucks in tips by the end of the night.

Don’t even get me started on the state of the place, it’s a total shit pit. There is not even a square foot of counter place behind the bar to prepare drinks, every time I work an event there is little to no coin, there is crap piled and stacked everywhere and the cash situation is atrocious, the entire float is kept together in one place, which at any given time last night was open and accessible by at least ten different people, and the bar staff is supposed to be responsible for any shortages? Not going to happen on my shift I can tell you that much. Oh sorry, our till is short? There were five of us working two bars and at least five other people came into the office that had no right to be there and the float is just sitting, wide open. I don’t know how they can keep track of anything when its so poorly organized and I’m sure as hell not going to be responsible for any of it.

I have never in my life felt so poorly treated by an employer. I feel undervalued, unrespected and completely disposable. It’s a horrible way to treat people, especially when they’ve given seventeen years of blood, sweat and tears in dedicated service to our Military Members. It’s a shame that NPF doesn’t care as much about the Member’s service as the bar employee’s do.

Well that’s my rant, I’ll probably be back letting you know I’ve been fired if anyone there gets wind of this post!

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Living life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Show and Tell: Just A Piece of Meat

  1. 68ghia says:

    Here in my neck of the woods, many people that has had a good run with the company had to re-apply for their jobs. All in the name of Black Economic Empowerment.
    Employers these days don’t really care about the people working for them – sorry you have to go through this – maybe time to go out in the private sector?

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

