Daily Prompt: Odd Couple: Do my dishes, Oh!

Does a messy home (or office) make you anxious and cranky, or is cleaning something you just do before company comes over?

Daily Prompt: Odd Couple.

I definately have a limit. I can let things go to a certain degree before the need to clean hits me, but this leniency has been a long time coming.

I used to be a little less relaxed, well, okay, a lot less relaxed. As a young child I had no say how the house was organized, arranged or cleaned, but I knew exactly where everthing was. Anytime any one couldn’t find something they would ask me and I could always tell them where they had left it. As a young mother my home was cleaned top to bottom daily and I could find anything, any item, in any room, cupboard or drawer in pitch blackness, blindfolded, simply because I needed to know exactly where everything was at any given moment. If a thimble in the sewing box was out of place by a couple of milimetres I knew it. Coming home from work was a huge challenge when my kids were younger and they had a sitter, since sofa cushiouns and throw pillows would be out of place, there would be dishes in the kitchen sink and the regular mess of living without cleaning up afterwards would be evident. I would have to clean and straighten and make sure everything was back in its place before I was able to relax enough to spend time with my chldren.
Over the years I forced myself to leave things, leave that lamp half inch off center, leave the throw pillow inadequately plumped, leave a cup in the sink or even on the counter! Now, I am pretty relaxed. I still hate mess in the kitchen, even crumbs on the counter are an affront to my senses, but I can just wipe them off now without the associated panic that used to come along with those crumbs.
Now there are even parts of my home that are so disorganized I have no idea what items are even stashed there, and I can look at these areas without panic or anxiety. I think I finally feel safe and secure and in control enough in my home to not have to control the placement of every single thing around me.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Odd Couple: Do my dishes, Oh!

  1. Pingback: Me and Quentin | The Daily Dilly Dally

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Messy or Clean? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: What Would You Do If Lucifer Visited Your Home? | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Oddly | Tommia's Tablet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Odd Couple | My Atheist Blog

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

