Daily Prompt: Hello, is that you?

Daily Prompt: Unknown Caller.

You receive a call from someone an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about? Go!

I have never been very good at grammar, and the art of conversational writing eludes me, so I will ask right now before I begin that if anyone has any constructive criticism, corrections or helpful suggestions, please let me know in the comments box. Please be nice though, my ego is quite fragile. 🙂

The shrill ringing of the phone brought the woman abruptly out of her reverie, “hello!” she snapped.

“Hello beautiful.” The deep, sexy voice on the other end made her instantly regret her tone. “Ah, ahem, well hello yourself, how are you?” she asked.

He chuckled before replying, “I’m just fine darling, dare I ask how you are?”

The women heaved a sigh and said, “well, I’m in a bit of a funk, you know how it goes. Hearing your voice has cheered me up a little though.”

“Well I’m glad I could be of service,” he drawled,  “speaking of which, I have a four hour stop over,” his voice dropped and he practically purred, “I’d love to come over and service you very, very well.”

Feeling suddenly weak at the knees and slighty breathless she replied, “u-huh, yeah, ummm, no wait,” stop over? she thought,  and fully recovering her senses, asked “ummmm, who is this?  Dan?”

A brief silence at the other end and then, “No, this is Michael, Lara?”

She sputtered a little then said, “Ah no sorry, you have the wrong number,” before very gently hanging up the phone.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Hello, is that you?

  1. Pingback: Who The Hell Is This? – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  2. James says:

    Good one! And, a true story, huh? 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Phone That Never Rings | The Jittery Goat

  4. Nice one! The end was just so unexpected. She didn’t know who was calling all along? 🙂

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.

