Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

via Daily Prompt: Second Time Around.

I have a few books I have read more times than I can count. The first book is Stephen King’s ‘The Stand’. My first copy was a paperback which I still have, tattered and torn, missing its covers, but still the one I pick up even though I have the hardcover as well. I like the writing for one, King is a Master without doubt. The story grabs me and doesn’t let go till I’m finished it, I know how the story unfolds, I know what comes next and I love knowing where it goes. The story is an epic battle between Good and evil, Good wins, that’s important to me.

Another of my favourites is Jane Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice. I go in stages where I read nothing but horror or mystery or deep, dark, heavy works, and then I need to read Pride and Prejudice. It’s like a palate cleanser for my brain, something nice and light and playful and innocent.

Another favourite is ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover’ by D.H. Lawrence. It is the language and the dialect in this book that draws me, it is so very different that it requires a different level of concentration in order for me to read it.

I have other favourites, but these three have been read the most often.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

  1. ahiggins2013 says:

    I’ve read The Stand several times, too. It is truly haunting. I actually like the first half better than the last. King’s imagining of the “super flu” scares me every time I read it.

  2. snosler says:

    Very good choices – and so very different too!

  3. Roberta says:

    Hello…I have not read Stephen King, but when I worked in a library I would often see his book “on Writing” being checked in and out. I may read it someday. Frank Peretti has some good books based on good and evil and he also has a series for youth.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.