Adding Fruit to the 10 Mile Diet

fruit share

I’ve just discovered an exciting opportunity called Fruit Share Manitoba . I’ve just registered to volunteer with this community operation that harvests fruit from around the city and shares it three ways, one third goes to the home/landowner who’s fruit they harvest, one third goes to the volunteers doing the harvesting, and one third goes to many different local organizations.

I’m so happy I found it, this is right up my alley, and I’m really excited about it! I already know there is plenty of produce in walking distance, hence the 10 mile diet! Last year I picked apples, cherries, raspberries, gooseberries (thanks to a sharing neighbour), red and black currants, wild cranberries, and all this from walking and seeing the berries and thinking, “hmmm, this looks like…. name of berry here….. I wonder if it is?” and then tasting and discovering, why yes, yes it is! Practically in my own backyard! What I didn’t know is that there are also pears growing in Winnipeg, can’t wait to find me some of that! I’m also going to be on the lookout for wild rhubarb this year, as well as any edible greens I can find.

On a less exciting note, it’s -17 celcius here right now, last night it apparently went down to -28. This time last year it was 10 above, sunny, warm, no snow, plants coming up, leaves starting to green on the trees. I’m trying to stay positive, but this cold cloudy weather is killing me!

Well, thats it for today, time to get some work done.

About Reviewer Rose

Hi, my name is Rose, I'm no longer in the flush of youth, I have a common-law husband and two teenaged daughters, multiple pets, and more debt than I'm comfortable with! Anything sounding familiar? Well, its all too familiar to me and I plan on changing a few things around here. I'll keep the husband, kids and pets, but some things just need to change! I am embarking on a journey of discovery. Warning, this blog includes discovery of self, writing, learning and growing. There may be posts that you won't be comfortable reading, but I have supressed some things for so long, things I don't want to keep anymore, so will leave them here on these pages. I hope you will follow while I live, learn, heal, try, review and share, and I hope you can grow along with me in my pursuit of betterment!
This entry was posted in 10 Mile Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to know what you think.